Museums and Galleries on Romney Marsh
Romney Marsh has five Museums, two Visitor Centres and a number of Galleries.
Dungeness Gallery displays and sells the work of local Dungeness photographer, Chris Shore, and watercolour artist Helen Taylor. The gallery is situated between the two lighthouses on Dungeness in a house made up of three Edwardian railway carriages that were located on the beach in the 1920s. The gallery has been open since 1996 and has established a regular client base, both for fine art prints and watercolour originals.
The work of Chris and Helen is in many private collections throughout the world, as far as Russia, USA, Japan, Australia and South Africa.
Commissions on any subject can be undertaken to your instructions. These can be made to any size of your choice and can be framed. Subjects such as local landscapes, pets, cars, children, hotels, churches, motor bikes, flora and fauna. These subjects can be undertaken from your photos to copy and make fantastic presents.
For more information please visit the Dungeness Gallery website or telephone 01797 320497
Two beautiful studios, open to the public all year, are on the West-side beach. The studios are run by artists Paddy Hamilton and Helen Gillilan. They have extensive experience of solo and collaborative shows and events, curating and managing exhibitions and producing commissioned work on given themes.
Paintings, prints and projects on show are made to a finish in a third studio to the right of Studio 2 and completed over time in early morning sessions in these two buildings.
Studio 1 is used as the 'clean space' for colouring and printing relief prints.
Studio 2 - 'The clean white space' for finishing larger paintings, hosts residencies for invited visiting artists and is used as an impromptu showing space for new projects or as a viewing room for individual works seen online.
For more information, please visit the Dungeness Open Studios website.
The New Hall in Dymchurch was once the headquarters for law and order on Romney Marsh. There is a court room that was used in the 18th century, which is now a museum, containing relics and antiques. There is also the old gaol which is next to the court room, built in 1797, used until 1866, which can also be viewed.
The Corporation of Romney Marsh now manage New Hall are happy to have visitors to the court room and gaol, however, this can only be done by prior appointment. Please contact Allan Holliwell, clerk to the Corporation of Romney Marsh, on 01303 872314.
There is no charge for entry to the museum however, if visitors wish to make a small donation this will be gratefully accepted.
For more information please see New Hall page.
The Old School in New Romney forms an important part of the Town’s history, culture and continued social activity. It also houses the Town’s Museum, providing an interesting insight into the history of this fascinating area. The museum displays a variety of historic items from New Romney and the Romney Marsh.
The Museum is open from 2pm to 4.30pm on the 1st and 3rd Sundays in the month throughout the year.